Just bless it …

Awhile back, I embarked on a meditation adventure designed to bring more money into my life. It was a fascinating experience that, in the end, had little to do with my ability to make more money, but a whole lot to do with my beliefs about abundance and success, but I digress …

One of the things the author of the manifesting money book suggested was that when we begin to feel frustrated by the process, we start blessing things … everything, he said, bless everything you can think of. And so I did because, why not?

I cracked myself up because I found myself blessing things like the ancient, scarred vinyl floor in my kitchen, or the piece of lint stuck to the back of the jacket of the guy standing in line in front of me.

At the very least, I got a good laugh out of it when I was blessing these odd things, and laughing is always a plus.

Not long after that, I had a reading (yes! psychics get readings from other psychics!). During that reading, it came up that my partner always leaves doors and drawers standing open …

“What,” I began to rant to this patient, wise woman, “is so difficult about closing a drawer!?”

Happily, she empathized, and then she gave me some sage advice, “Give a little blessing each time you close a door or drawer behind him.”

Because really, it’s a choice: I can get angry, or I can accept that this is part of who he is.

As it turns out, this is a great technique to apply to multiple aspects of our lives.

Stuck in traffic and watched the light turn from green to red twice and you seriously need to pee? at the DMV? in a meeting where those who love to hear the sound of their own voices bring up subjects better addressed in email?

Start blessing things. You don’t even have to bless the things that are irritating you although that’s helpful, too.

Yesterday at lunchtime, I ran into the grocery to get something from the deli because I was starving and I had a coffee date to go to, but I needed to eat something first … I shoved some samosas into a container and fast-walked to the check-out stands to discover only three of the twelve lines open and those three lines were jammed with shoppers.

Sigh.

Now … anyone who knows me will tell you: I am not a patient woman, but I am learning. Yesterday, I could have stood there and stewed then left irritated and cast a pall over my day, but who needs that?

So I began to bless things. I blessed my samsoas (I was SO hungry!). I blessed the droplets of water dripping off my rain coat onto my shoes. I blessed the guy in front of me who made the woman he was with laugh. I blessed the long lines to either side of me. I blessed the sound of the cash drawer opening … you get the point … and before I knew it, I was paying for my stuff and laughing with the cashier as she handed me my change and sent me on my way to fill my belly …

Just bless it. It works.

Leave a comment